Recovery of oil and gas from unconventional reservoirs has changed the energy outlook for America, potentially providing energy security for the foreseeable future. The resources in these formations are vast and impact our economy by reducing imports. A concerted research effort is needed to develop the concepts and technologies required to sustain production. The Unconventional Hydrocarbon Cooperative (UHC) is a unique platform that integrates the diverse science and engineering disciplines involved in unconventional energy development.

Educating the next generation of petroleum professionals is a key imperative of the UHC. The petroleum industry is impacted by baby-boomer retirement and competition for vibrant new talent. OSU has a long tradition of educational excellence in the sciences and engineering, and the UHC builds on this tradition to provide the next generation of trained energy professionals.


The UHC is headquartered on the main campus of OSU in Stillwater, Oklahoma and is a cooperative effort of the Boone Pickens School of Geology in the College of Arts & Sciences and the Petroleum Engineering Program in the College of Engineering, Architecture, and Technology.

UHC scientists and engineers bring established expertise in four distinct upstream and midstream technical focus areas: (1) reservoir characterization, (2) drilling and completion, (3) enhanced recovery, and (4) flow assurance/fluid processing. These focus areas will evolve as the technological focus changes in the petroleum industry.

The organizational structure of the UHC consists of an Administrative Committee, Co-Directors, and an Advisory Board. The Administrative committee consists of key university administrators, and the Directors are responsible for the operations of the UHC. The Advisory Board constitutes representatives of the UHC membership and is designed to define and guide the research initiatives in each technical focus area.

To learn more about the UHC, feel free to download the Charter and Bylaws.


The UHC provides a unique vehicle for collaboration among university researchers and the unconventional oil and gas industry that facilitates the development of leading-edge R&D solutions.

Distinctions of the UHC are:

  • Exceptional synergy among geological and engineering disciplines.
  • Systems-based characterization approach for all unconventional reservoir types integrating sedimentary geology, structural geology, hydrodynamics, geothermics, petroleum systems analysis, petrophysics, and volumetrics.
  • Unmanned aerial vehicle technology that can be applied to basic needs of the unconventional oil and gas industry.
  • Advanced subsurface, ground-based, and airborne sensor deployment for field and reservoir monitoring.
  • Experience with integrated field demonstrations of CO2-enhanced resource recovery from unconventional reservoirs.
  • State of the art petrophysical facilities including advanced sorption, porosimetry, and permeametry capabilities.
  • Advanced imaging and milling capabilities, including micro-CT, TEM, FE-SEM.
  • Geochemically driven analysis and management strategies for flow assurance.
  • Rheological investigation of oilfield fluids, proppant transport, and wetting/interfacial properties of microporous and nanoporous media.


More than 20 scientists in the College of Arts & Sciences and the College of Engineering, Architecture, and Technology are research affiliates of the UHC. Click here to learn more about these researchers and their interests.


Organizations and individuals may become members of the UHC upon payment of a minimum annual membership fee of $49,500/yr. A joining fee of $25,000 is waived for members who join by December 30, 2015. Upon joining, members can specify which UHC technical focus areas they choose to support so that resources can be directed accordingly.

Each member organization will have a seat on the Advisory Board and will thus provide vital input into UHC activities. Membership provides an excellent mechanism to discover and interact with unconventional energy researchers at OSU who bring a unique and diverse mix of talent, capability, and vision.

Membership provides access to research results in the supported technical focus areas. And executive summaries of all UHC research projects will be made available to all UHC members through Annual and Quarterly Reports.

To learn more about joining the UHC, feel free to contact the directors, Peter Clark or Jack Pashin. Please contact Jennifer Clausing if you have administrative questions or would like a copy of the Membership Agreement.



The UHC office is in Room 309 of the Advanced Technology Research Center on the main OSU campus in Stillwater. Visitors are welcome, and to schedule an appointment, please contact the Directors or Jennifer Clausing.




Dr. Peter E. Clark

Professor and Samson and Ward Chair of Petroleum Engineering
Director of the Petroleum Engineering Program
School of Chemical Engineering
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, OK 74078



Dr. Jack Pashin

Professor and Devon Chair of Basin Research
Boone Pickens School of Geology
105 Noble Research Center
Oklahoma State University
Stillwater, OK 74078
(405) 744-5308


Administrative contact:

Jennifer Clausing, CRA
Research Administration Coordinator
Oklahoma State University
CEAT Research Administration
201 Advanced Technology Research Center
Stillwater, OK 74078-5012
Phone: (405) 744-9499
Fax: (405) 744-3189